God Is Mighty

Inspire from TRU

Sometimes our lack of faith isn’t so much about what we don’t know about God, but what we know and have forgotten. It’s amazing how forgetful we can be. It happens to me all of the time. God does amazing things in my life and the lives of those around me. He guides my paths, answers my prayers, and follows through on all the promises He makes. But still … I forget. I forget to trust. I forget to believe. I forget to see the bigger picture of who He is and the mighty love in His plan.

There was one particular time when I was being forgetful again. God had, only recently, redeemed some of the hardest times of my life. He had used some overwhelmingly difficult circumstances to prepare me for some incredible things that I couldn’t even have imagined or planned for. But here I was again … worrying about the future and how it might play out.

As I read God’s Word, I was reminded that I am not alone. Throughout history, God’s people have been forgetful—repeatedly! The Israelites, for example, experienced amazing triumph and witnessed miracles beyond explanation, and yet they would forget and start to worry. It was exactly what I’d been doing for quite some time. Just like the Israelites and the early Christians, I’d adopted a pattern of forgetfulness.

Since my great awakening, I’ve tried to be more aware of this pattern. I’ve asked God to smack me upside the head every once in awhile to remind me when I forget. It’s still not always easy to remember (for some reason our default seems to be worry and fear), but God is mighty. He is good. He has a plan for redeeming our lives. And because of who He is, I can trust Him.

 

Leave a Reply

